Understand the innovative potential of Web3.

Use cases, training, change management... All the tools you need to transform your business and innovate with Web3.
What you get when you subscribe
Exclusive content, interviews, reports
Invitations to private and partner events
One column (1000 characters) per year
Access to the Discord community
Access to the Whalee AI assistant
Dedicated space at The Ocean
With its independence and pedagogy, The Big Whale is the most useful tool for Web3 acculturation in-house.

They trust us

la banque postalefrancaise des jeuxswisslifemazarsmazarsmefr logoagricultural creditsociete generale logobanque postale logofdj logoswisslifemazarsmazarsmefr logocredit agricole

Every week, the essential information to follow Web3

The world of cryptocurrencies is constantly evolving... it's often difficult to keep up with it all. We save you time and remind you every week of what you need to remember, nothing more, to make the right decisions.

Every week, the essential information to follow Web3

The world of cryptocurrencies is constantly evolving... it's often difficult to keep up with it all. We save you time and remind you every week of what you need to remember, nothing more, to make the right decisions.
👉
Cross The Ages raises $3.5 million and announces token listing
With this round of funding, the company aims to further develop the brand around the Cross The Ages universe through the release of new Web3 games, as well as a TV series, comic books and a second novel.
More >
👉
Stables: a new shareholder base for new ambitions?
The horse racing game launched by PMU has just opened up its capital to new investors such as Tezos. The aim is to accelerate revenue generation and, according to our information, to raise funds in 2025.
More >
👉
Safe acquires France's Multis
With this acquisition, for an undisclosed sum, the Swiss-based multi-signature wallet provider aims to consolidate its position as market leader.
More >
👉
EXCLUSIVE: OlkyPay prepares to launch a euro stablecoin
The Franco-Luxembourg neo-bank is preparing to launch its stablecoin.
More >
👉
Sorare refocuses its product teams in France
Due to certain difficulties linked to its development in the United States, the French start-up will be repatriating some of its teams to France.
More >
👉
Gaming: Playmakers raises $1.5 million
Founded in 2022, Playmakers is a French platform that enables video game players to become creators. Former Xbox France General Manager Hugues Ouvrard is one of the investors.
More >

Get ahead of tomorrow's innovations

We help you position your company, thanks to our exclusive interviews with top leaders and our weekly analysis.
The Big Focus
coinbase layer-2 base
Presented in February and officially launched in August, Base has rapidly established itself as one of the most widely used Ethereum scalability solutions. Let's take a look at the stakes involved in its development.

The Layer 2 war has been raging for several months now, and Coinbase officially entered it on August 9, when its Base scalability solution was deployed on the mainnet.

Beyond the stated goal of onboarding "the next billion users and the next million developers on blockchain", Base has above all enabled Coinbase to find new growth drivers. And from this point of view, the launch has been a success.

In just over 5 months, Base has entered the layer 2 podium in terms of total value tied up (TVL) with just under $400 million, behind Arbitrum ($2.35 billion) and Optimism ($820 million). It even made it into the top 10 for all blockchains combined, according to data aggregated by DeFi Llama.

Base generated over $5 million in revenue from transactions made by the more than 390,000 users, according to data aggregated by asset manager 21Shares on Dune Analytics.

These good figures were largely achieved thanks to the launch last summer of the FriendTech social network, whose temporary frenzy triggered a record number of Base transactions, peaking at 1.8 million on September 14 and 1.4 million on October 2.

But speculation is not the only reason for the success of Coinbase Layer 2. "Base has set up a very comprehensive onboarding system. Unlike other blockchains, it's much easier to deploy there. Thanks to this, they were able to mobilize a sizeable community fairly quickly," remarks Mounir Benchemled, CEO of DEX aggregator ParaSwap, which also deployed on Coinbase layer 2 in September.

A strategic alliance with Optimism

To launch its layer 2, Coinbase has chosen to use OP-Stack, the optimistic roll-up developed by Optimism and launched last June.

"Today, OP-Stack is the most developed layer 2 solution. Optimism also offers the advantage of providing a clearer roadmap than its competitors, and support for more advanced projects", continues Mounir Benchemled. For a company with institutional ambitions like Brian Armstrong's, these arguments are bound to set it apart.

A few weeks after the launch of Base, Coinbase announced that it shared Optimism's vision based on the principles of a "Superchain", a network of interoperable layer 2s.

On August 24, the two companies even announced a revenue-sharing agreement for Base. In return, Coinbase Layer 2 will receive up to 118 million OP tokens (around $250 million at current prices) over a 6-year period, which will enable it to participate in Optimism's governance.

Making the most of your brand

"Even though Base has had an interesting start, in the long term it will have to find differentiating elements compared with other layer 2 solutions," warns Stanislas Barthélémi, head of blockchain & crypto at KPMG.

Base has a potential user base of over 100 million, and the power of a brand that is currently one of the most reassuring on the market in terms of regulation.

"In recent years, Coinbase has spent an enormous amount of money on simplifying its user experience as much as possible, both for its platform and for its various products such as Coinbase Wallet. It could do the same for Base, and thus secure itself some interesting traction," continues Stanislas Barthélémi.

There's no shortage of possibilities, especially since USDC, Circle's stablecoin, has been available natively on Base since early September, i.e. without the need for a bridge. For Stanislas Barthélémi, "this integration opens up a wide range of possibilities for everyday payments and cross-border transactions at lower cost. Coinbase clearly has many levers to pull to make Base viable".

Decentralization in focus

In addition to facilitating access to the blockchain for its users, Coinbase has been hammering home in recent months its desire to decentralize the operation of Base to make it "an open and neutral platform where developers and users can participate freely", explains the company, which for the moment has not revealed a precise timetable.

Once mentioned as a possibility "at some point in the future" by its General Counsel Paul Grewal, the launch of a native token for Base has for the moment been totally ruled out by CEO Brian Armstrong. "We have no plans to create a token for Base," he explained to US media outlet Decrypt in early December.

"It's harder to imagine decentralizing a layer 2 without a token," raises Mounir Benchemled. "A token provides more flexibility to set up governance models or incentives to use the protocol," he adds.

It has to be said that the American environment is not necessarily conducive to such a launch, with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) having drastically tightened the regulatory screws on the crypto sector since the fall of FTX. For several months now, the SEC has tended to consider the majority of cryptos or tokens as financial securities. A reclassification that Coinbase wishes to avoid more than anything else.

"Because of this threat and the lack of clarity in the rules, many projects have put their token projects on hold," confides a French entrepreneur who has just spent several months in the United States.

Get ahead of tomorrow's innovations

We help you position your company, thanks to our exclusive interviews with top leaders and our weekly analysis.

Come and meet the Web3 players

We open the doors of the ecosystem to you at our monthly events. Don't miss out on these business opportunities.

Come and meet the Web3 players

Every month, we organize exclusive events bringing together Web3 companies and institutions.
Paris, France
Sep 26, 2024 8:30 AM

How payment specialists integrate digital assets

Find out how payment specialists are integrating digital assets at this event organized by The Big Whale media.
Paris, France
Jun 27, 2024 8:30 AM

How do major groups manage their Web3 innovations?

Come and find out how leading companies are managing their Web3 innovations at this exclusive breakfast.
Paris, France
Apr 25, 2024 8:30 AM

AI and Web3: the great convergence

The Big Whale, Caisse des Dépôts and Aleph invite you on April 25, from 8.30am to 11.30am, to a meeting focusing on AI and Web3, to explore how the future of these two technological spheres is interconnected.
Paris, France
Mar 25, 2024 8:30 AM

Blockchain at the heart of the energy transition

The Big Whale invites you on March 25, from 8:30am to 11:30am, to discover how blockchain is revolutionizing the world of energy.

An independent media at the service of its community.

Our journalists have been covering Web3 and cryptocurrency news since 2016.
Join the +20,000 readers of The Big Whale
20.000+
Weekly readers
750+
tokens analyzed by Whalee
450+
Companies in The Ocean
1.000+
members on Discord

FAQ_

All about The Big Whale_
Why did we launch The Big Whale?
We are convinced that, in this period of Web3 development, an expert and independent media is essential. Our aim is to provide our readers with clear, value-added information, while enabling them to understand the issues surrounding crypto-currencies. For those wishing to embark on this adventure, The Big Whale is the answer to the question "Where do I start?".
Is The Big Whale really an independent media?
Yes! The Big Whale is owned by its three co-founders, as well as part ofteam and a few minority investors. Find out more. This financial and capital independence is guaranteed by the support of our community of subscribers.
How do I take out a subscription for my company?
To sign up for a subscription for your company, simply contact us via the form. We'll contact you shortly afterwards, and discuss the best offer for you and your staff.

Comprenez tout le potentiel d'innovation du Web3.

Cas d'usages, formation, acculturation en interne... Tous les outils pour transformer votre activité et innover grâce au Web3.
Ce que vous aurez en vous abonnant
Contenus exclusifs, interviews, rapports
Invitations aux events privés et partenaires
Une tribune (1000 signes) par an
Accès à la communauté Discord
Accès à l'assistant IA Whalee
Espace dédié au sein de The Ocean
Avec son indépendance et sa pédagogie, The Big Whale est l'outil le plus utile pour l'acculturation Web3 en interne

Ils nous font confiance

la banque postalefrancaise des jeuxswisslifemazarsmazarsmefr logocrédit agricolesociete generale logobanque postale logofdj logoswisslifemazarsmazarsmefr logocredit agricole

Chaque semaine, l’essentiel pour suivre le secteur

Le monde des cryptomonnaies évolue en permanence... il est souvent difficile de tout suivre. Nous vous faisons gagner du temps et vous rappelons chaque semaine ce qu'il faut retenir, et rien de plus, pour prendre les bonnes décisions.

Chaque semaine, l’essentiel pour suivre le secteur

Le monde des cryptomonnaies évolue en permanence... il est souvent difficile de tout suivre. Nous vous faisons gagner du temps et vous rappelons chaque semaine ce qu'il faut retenir, et rien de plus, pour prendre les bonnes décisions.
👉
Cross The Ages lève 3,5 millions de dollars et annonce le listing de son token
Avec cette levée de fonds, la société ambitionne de continuer à développer la marque autour de l'univers Cross The Ages via la sortie de nouveaux jeux Web3, mais aussi d'une série TV, de bandes dessinées, ainsi que d'un deuxième roman.
En savoir plus >
👉
Stables : un nouvel actionnariat, pour de nouvelles ambitions ?
Le jeu hippique lancé par PMU vient d'ouvrir son capital à de nouveaux investisseurs comme Tezos. Le but est d'accélérer la génération de revenus et, selon nos informations, de lever des fonds en 2025.
En savoir plus >
👉
Safe met la main sur le français Multis
Avec cette acquisition, dont le montant n’a pas été communiqué, le fournisseur de wallets multi-signatures basé en Suisse veut conforter sa place de leader sur le marché.
En savoir plus >
👉
EXCLUSIF. OlkyPay prépare le lancement d'un stablecoin euro
La néo-banque franco-luxembourgeoise s'apprête à lancer son stablecoin.
En savoir plus >
👉
Sorare recentre ses équipes produit en France
En raison de certaines difficultés liées à son développement aux États-Unis, la start-up française va rapatrier une partie de ses équipes en France.
En savoir plus >
👉
Gaming : Playmakers lève 1,5 million de dollars
Fondée en 2022, Playmakers est une plateforme française qui permet aux joueurs de jeux vidéo de devenir des créateurs. L'ancien directeur général de Xbox France, Hugues Ouvrard, fait partie des investisseurs.
En savoir plus >

Prenez de l'avance sur les innovations de demain

Nous vous aidons à positionner votre entreprise, grâce à nos interviews exclusives de top leaders et nos décryptages hebdomadaires.
The Big Focus
coinbase layer-2 base
Présenté en février et lancé officiellement en août, Base s’est rapidement imposé parmi les solutions de scalabilité d’Ethereum les plus utilisées. Décryptage des enjeux liés à son développement.

Depuis plusieurs mois maintenant, la guerre des layers 2 fait rage et Coinbase y est officiellement entrée le 9 août, date à laquelle sa solution de scalabilité Base a été déployée sur le mainnet.

Au-delà de l'objectif affiché d'embarquer “le prochain milliard d'utilisateurs et le prochain million de développeurs sur la blockchain”, Base a surtout permis à Coinbase de trouver de nouveaux relais de croissance. Et de ce point de vue, le lancement est réussi.

En un peu plus de 5 mois, Base a intégré le podium des layers 2 en termes de valeur totale immobilisée (TVL) avec un peu moins de 400 millions de dollars, derrière Arbitrum (2,35 milliards de dollars) et Optimism (820 millions de dollars). Il a même intégré le top 10, toutes blockchains confondues, selon les données agrégées par DeFi Llama.

Base a généré plus de 5 millions de dollars de revenus à partir des transactions effectuées par les plus de 390 000 utilisateurs, selon les données agrégées par le gestionnaire d’actifs 21Shares sur Dune Analytics.

Ces bons chiffres ont en grande partie été réalisés grâce au lancement l’été dernier du réseau social FriendTech, dont la frénésie passagère a provoqué un nombre record de transactions sur Base, avec un pic à 1,8 million la journée du 14 septembre puis 1,4 million le 2 octobre.

Mais la spéculation n'explique pas uniquement le succès du layer 2 de Coinbase. “Base a mis en place un système d'onboarding très complet. Contrairement à d'autres blockchains, il est bien plus facile de s'y déployer. Grâce à cela, ils ont réussi à mobiliser une communauté importante assez rapidement”, remarque Mounir Benchemled, CEO de l’agrégateur de DEX ParaSwap, qui s’est également déployé en septembre sur le layer 2 de Coinbase.

Une alliance stratégique avec Optimism

Pour lancer son layer 2, Coinbase a choisi d’utiliser l’OP-Stack, l’optimistic roll-up développé par Optimism lancé en juin dernier.

“Aujourd’hui, l’OP-Stack est la solution de layer 2 la plus développée. Optimism offre également l’avantage de fournir une roadmap plus claire que ses concurrents et un accompagnement pour les projets plus poussés”, poursuit Mounir Benchemled. Des arguments forcément différenciants pour une entreprise aux ambitions institutionnelles comme l’entreprise dirigée par Brian Armstrong.

Quelques semaines après le lancement de Base, Coinbase a annoncé partager la vision d’Optimism fondée sur les principes d’une “Superchain”, soit un réseau de layers 2 interopérables entre eux.

Le 24 août, les deux entreprises ont même annoncé un accord de partage des revenus générés par Base. En retour, le layer 2 de Coinbase pourra recevoir jusqu’à 118 millions de tokens OP (environ 250 millions de dollars au cours actuel) sur une période de 6 ans, ce qui lui permettra de participer à la gouvernance d’Optimism.

Profiter de sa marque

“Même si Base a eu un départ intéressant, il devra trouver sur le long terme des éléments différenciants par rapport aux autres solutions de layer 2”, avertit Stanislas Barthélémi, responsable blockchain & crypto chez KPMG.

Base dispose d’une base potentielle de plus de 100 millions d’utilisateurs et de la puissance d’une marque qui est actuellement l’une des plus rassurantes du marché en termes de réglementation.

“Ces dernières années, Coinbase a dépensé énormément d’argent pour simplifier au maximum son expérience utilisateur à la fois pour sa plateforme mais aussi pour ses différents produits comme Coinbase Wallet. Elle pourrait en faire de même pour Base et ainsi s’assurer une traction intéressante”, poursuit Stanislas Barthélémi.

Les possibilités ne manquent pas, d’autant plus que l’USDC, le stablecoin de Circle, est disponible depuis début septembre de manière native sur Base, c’est-à-dire sans passer par un bridge. Pour Stanislas Barthélémi, “cette intégration ouvre un champ des possibles assez important pour du paiement du quotidien ou cross-border à moindre frais. Coinbase a clairement de nombreux leviers à actionner pour rendre viable Base”.

La décentralisation en ligne de mire

Au-delà de faciliter l’accès pour ses utilisateurs à la blockchain, Coinbase n’a cessé de marteler ces derniers mois sa volonté de décentraliser le fonctionnement de Base pour en faire “une plateforme ouverte et neutre où les développeurs et les utilisateurs peuvent participer librement”, explique l’entreprise qui pour le moment n’a pas dévoilé de calendrier précis.

Un temps évoqué comme une possibilité “à un moment donné dans le futur” par son directeur juridique Paul Grewal, le lancement d’un token natif pour Base a pour le moment été totalement exclu par le CEO Brian Armstrong. “Nous n’avons pas prévu de créer un jeton pour Base”, a-t-il expliqué début décembre au média américain Decrypt.

“Il est plus difficile d’imaginer décentraliser un layer 2 sans token”, soulève Mounir Benchemled. “Un token procure davantage de flexibilité pour mettre en place des modèles de gouvernance ou des incitations à utiliser le protocole”, complète-t-il.

Il faut dire que l’environnement américain n’est pas forcément propice à un tel lancement, la Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) ayant drastiquement resserré la vis réglementaire concernant le secteur crypto depuis la chute de FTX. Depuis plusieurs mois, le gendarme boursier américain tend à considérer la majorité des cryptos ou tokens comme des titres financiers. Une requalification que Coinbase souhaite éviter plus que tout.

“En raison de cette menace et du manque de clarté dans les règles, de nombreux projets ont mis en stand-by leur projet de token”, confie un entrepreneur français qui vient de passer plusieurs mois aux États-Unis.

Prenez de l'avance sur les innovations de demain

Nous vous aidons à positionner votre entreprise, grâce à nos interviews exclusives de top leaders et nos décryptages hebdomadaires.

Venez au contact des acteurs du Web3

Nous vous ouvrons les portes de l’écosystème, lors de nos évènements mensuels. Ne passez pas à côté de ces opportunités business.

Venez au contact des acteurs du Web3

Nous organisons chaque mois des évènements exclusifs réunissant des entreprises du Web3, et des institutionnels.
Paris, France
Sep 26, 2024 8:30 AM

Comment les spécialistes du paiement intègrent les actifs numériques

Découvrez comment les spécialistes du paiement intègrent les actifs numériques lors de cet événement organisé par le média The Big Whale.
Paris, France
Jun 27, 2024 8:30 AM

Comment les grands groupes pilotent-ils leurs innovations Web3 ?

Venez découvrir comment les grandes entreprises pilotent leurs innovations Web3 lors de ce petit-déjeuner exclusif.
Paris, France
Apr 25, 2024 8:30 AM

IA et Web3 : la grande convergence

The Big Whale, la Caisse des Dépôts et Aleph vous convient le 25 avril, de 8h30 à 11h30, à une rencontre axée sur l'IA et le Web3, pour explorer comment le futur de ces deux sphères technologiques est interconnecté.
Paris, France
Mar 25, 2024 8:30 AM

La blockchain au coeur de la transition énergétique

The Big Whale vous invite le 25 mars, de 8h30 à 11h30, à découvrir comment la blockchain révolutionne le monde de l'énergie.

Un média indépendant au service de sa communauté.

Nos journalistes couvrent les actualités Web3 et cryptomonnaies depuis 2016.
Rejoignez les +20 000 lecteurs de The Big Whale
20.000+
Lecteurs hebdomadaires
750+
tokens analysés par Whalee
450+
Entreprises dans The Ocean
1.000+
membres sur Discord

FAQ_

Tout savoir sur The Big Whale_
Pourquoi avons-nous lancé The Big Whale ?
Nous sommes convaincus que, dans cette période de développement du Web3, un média expert et indépendant est essentiel. Notre objectif est de fournir à nos lecteurs des informations claires et à forte valeur ajoutée, tout en leur permettant de comprendre les enjeux propres aux cryptomonnaies. Pour ceux qui souhaitent se lancer dans cette aventure, The Big Whale est la réponse à la question "Par où commencer ?".
The Big Whale est-il réellement un média indépendant ?
Oui ! The Big Whale est détenu par ses trois cofondateurs ainsi qu’une partie de l’équipe et quelques investisseurs minoritaires. En savoir plus. Cette indépendance financière et capitalistique est garantie par le soutien de notre communauté d’abonnés.
Comment souscrire un abonnement pour mon entreprise ?
Pour s'inscrire un abonnement pour votre entreprise, il suffit de nous contacter via le formulaire. Nous vous contacterons rapidement après, et pourrons discuter de la meilleure offre pour vous et vos collaborateurs.